Saturday, December 3, 2022
Home HEALTH Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine is awarded to Svante Paabo

Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine is awarded to Svante Paabo

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine was awarded to Svante Paabo on Monday for his discoveries on the genomes of extinct hominins and human evolution.

It was the first of several prizes to be awarded over the next week. Nobel Prizes, among the highest honors in science, recognize innovative contributions in a variety of fields.

“Through his pioneering research, Svante Paabo, winner of this year’s Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, achieved the seemingly impossible: sequencing the genome of the Neanderthal, an extinct relative of modern humans,” the Nobel committee said in a statement. a declaration.

“Paabo’s discoveries have generated a new understanding of our evolutionary history,” the statement said.

The prize was jointly awarded to David Julius and Ardem Patapoutian for their discoveries about the key mechanisms of how people perceive heat, cold, touch and body movements.

  • The Nobel Prize in Physics will be awarded on Tuesday by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in Stockholm. Last year, Syukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann and Giorgio Parisi won for their work detailing humanity’s role in climate change.

  • The Nobel Prize in Chemistry will be awarded on Wednesday by the Swedish Academy in Stockholm. Last year, Benjamin List and David WC MacMillan won for their development of a new tool that stimulated research for new drugs and reduced the chemical’s effect on the environment.

  • The Nobel Prize for Literature will be awarded on Thursday by the Swedish Academy in Stockholm. Last year, Abdulrazak Gurnah won for “his uncompromising and compassionate insight into the effects of colonialism and the fate of refugees in the chasm between cultures and continents.”

  • The Nobel Peace Prize will be awarded on Friday by the Norwegian Nobel Institute in Oslo. Last year, Maria Ressa and Dmitri A. Muratov, both journalists, won for their efforts in the fight to protect press freedom.

  • Next week, the Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences will be awarded on October 1. 10 by the Swedish Academy in Stockholm. Last year the award went to David Card, Joshua D Angrist and Guido W Imbens.

All prize announcements will also be live broadcast for the organization of the Nobel Prize. The award winners will receive their awards at a ceremony in Stockholm in December.


Greenland Inuit demanded answers on Denmark’s birth control scandal

Denmark and Greenland agree to investigate traumatic birth control procedures on Inuit Greenlanders.

Less travel for China’s Golden Week amid quarantine fears

BEIJING-- While China's top leaders commemorated revolutionary martyrs on Friday, far fewer Chinese are expected to travel during the upcoming "Golden Week" National Day...

Readers criticize recent column; Amy responds – Chicago Tribune

Dear Readers: I have heard from dozens of readers extremely concerned about my response to "Avoiding Amanita," the question written by a man who...


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Cease Consuming Over Uncontrollable Uncontrollable Disorder

When a person is ill as a result of hypertension or even diabetic issues, he needs to be offered a general expert or even...

The Untold Secret To Mastering Slot Online Paling Gacor Indonesia In Simply Three Days

Dewibet88 Situs Judi Slots Online Dapat dipercaya Dan Slot88 Gacor Di IndonesiaDewibet88 yakni ѕаlаh ѕаtu daftar web judi slots online dapat dipercaya serta slot88...

Man died from rare infection after cutting his leg

Picture these moments: "Catering company, you'll need to plan for big appetites because this is a group of athletes." "DJ, let's put together a...

To be Sure everything is Square

Nadiff A/P/A/R/T aka Andre young and pattern keeping all ingredіents in the Miami market. Canada are Valentino furniture designs ⅽomplementing your inteгior design by...